House Keeping…House Keeping?

1 08 2010

This post is just to cover some general house keeping with regard to the site and upcoming changes. First of all, I apologise for the slow posting this month- the “I’ve bought an iPhone, now what?” posts took far longer to research and write up than I anticipated, and incidentally I shall be releasing the final part of the trio sometime in August. Speaking of the new month, I plan to get back to posting more regularly with the usual concoction of reviews, rants and news pieces.

Now that’s out the way, let’s talk changes. I’ve decided to break up the monthly news update and spread it across the month with smaller posts. This ensures that news items are up to date and relevant, while avoiding overly long posts at the same time. Fans of the Disposable App of month, should fear not. The monthly feature shall not die an early death, but rather it shall inherit a post of it’s own, meaning you can expect a more thorough run down.

Round up of July’s Posts

Updated: I am T-Pain

In the early days of Appjudge, I reviewed the first iteration of the I am T-Pain App, which was a unique App that made use of the Autotune technology. The App scored a mediocre three stars out of five because despite the great user interface, the technology powering the App gave sporadic end results. Since then, the developers have released a major new update that takes advantage of the iPhone 4, as well as expanding the feature set for the 3GS users.

Default Wars : Battle of the Browsers

For a long time, the only choice in terms of web browsing on the iOS platform was through Apple’s walled garden- mobile Safari. However, with increasing pressure from competitors and users, Apple eventually allowed the first real alternative browser onto the platform, in the shape of Opera Mini. Unlike Mobile Safari and other browsers on the Appstore, Opera is not powered by Webkit, but rather their own compression software, that claims to not only save data charges, but also give users a significant speed boost. I explore, compare and contrast the two browser to work out if either is victor.

I’ve just bought an iPhone, now what? Part 1

In a three part post, I cover the whole Appstore from top to tail, by picking three Apps from each category. In the first post I cover the following categories: Books, Business, Education, Entertainment, Finance and Game.

Cloud computing : Is it already here?

The cloud, the internet and online services are the future of computing, apparently. I explore just what is meant by the term, Cloud Computing, and whether the future is far away, or, if cloud computing is already here.

I’ve just bought an iPhone, now what? Part 2

The second part of the three posts, in which I handpick the best Apps from each of the categories from the Appstore. In this post, I cover the following categories: Health and Fitness, Lifestyle, Medical, Music, Navigation, News and Photography.

Actions

Information

One response

1 08 2010
Body Workout 101

House Keeping?House Keeping?…

I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

